هل صيام رمضان يزيد من فرص الإصابة بفيروس كورونا؟

/ رمضان

ابتدأ فيروس كورونا منطقة ووهان في الصين منذ شهر ديسمبر 2019، واستمر إلى يومنا هذا، وها نحن نشارف الدخول في الشهر المبارك شهر رمضان، فهل ستبقى حياتنا متوقفة حتى في شهر رمضان؟ وهل صيام رمضان سيؤثر على مناعتنا والإصابة بالفيروس؟. كل هذا سنجيبك عليه في هذا المقال.

ما الإجراءات التي اتخذتها دولة الإمارات لمجابهة فيروس كورونا في شهر رمضان؟

أولًا دعنا نبدأ بما ذكرته صحيفة غلف نيوز قال الشيخ الأزهر "أنّ صيام رمضان هو واجب على جميع المسلمين ولا يحق الإفطار". هذا العام شهر رمضان لن يكون كباقي الأعوام السابقة، إذ أنّ العزائم واللمات العائلية المعتادة لن تكون كباقي الأعوام، كما أنّ المساجد لن تفتح وستبقى جميع الصلوات تؤدى في المنزل كما أعربت بعض الدول.

في هذا العام من المتوقع أن يبدأ شهر رمضان في الإمارات يوم الخميس 23 أبريل وينتهي مساء السبت 23 مايو، كما يصوم سكان الإمارات مدة 14 ساعة و48 دقيقة. من أهم القرارات التي اتخذتها دولة الإمارات لمجابهة فيروس كورونا في شهر رمضان:

  • منع جميع الاجتماعات والعزائم والتجمعات العائلية. كما منعت احتفال الأطفال والذي يسمى "حق الليلة"؛ حيث يتجمع به الأطفال ويتنقلون بين المساجد لجمع الحلوى.
  • يبقى قانون منع حظر التجول قائمًا في شهر رمضان والذي يمنع تجول المواطنين من الساعة الثامنة مساءاً حتى السادسة صباحاً. كما ينصح لجميع العائلات تسوق الحاجيات الضرورية بما يكفي مدة زمنية طويلة خلال شهر رمضان لتقليل فرص الخروج والاحتكاك والإصابة.
  • علقت  الهيئة العامة للشؤون الإسلامية والأوقاف الصلاة في المساجد حتى إشعارٍ آخر، كما قد تؤدى صلاة التراويح في المنزل، وهذا الأمر ستتم مراجعته ودراسته أيضًا.
  • مع قرار إغلاق المطاعم حتى إشعارٍ آخر نجد أن خدمة توصيل الطعام كانت متاحة، لكن في شهر رمضان لن تكون هناك فرصة لتناول طعام المطاعم (السحور والفطور). كما ينصح بالتقيد بالتعاليم والابتعاد عن التجمعات وتجنب العزائم.

هل حقًا الصيام يزيد من فرص الإصابة بفيروس كورونا؟

مع الأسف انتشر بين العديد شائعة أنّ الفيروس يقتل إذا تم شرب كميات كبيرة من الماء، وهذا أمر خاطئ؛ فإذا أصبت بالفيروس لن يقتله أي شيء، كما ذكرنا مسبقًا فإن انتقال الفيروس يكون فقط عند ملامسة شخص مصاب أو ملامسة أسطح ملوثة بالفيروس، لذا فإن الصيام لا يزيد من فرص إصابتك بالفيروس، فعلى عكس ذلك أثبت أنّ الصيام يقوي المناعة.

هل هناك أي تعارضات في الدراسات حول مضار ومنافع الصيام؟

هناك تعارضات كبيرة بين الدراسات حول خطورة الصيام المتقطع في هذا الوقت، على سبيل المثال وفقًا لموقع Insider "إن الصيام المتقطع مضر هذه الفترة خاصة بسبب التوتر والقلق والخوف، كما قد يضر الصيام بذوي اضطرابات الأكل". هذا ما يخالفه الرأي جريد غلف نيوز والتي أشادت بفوائد الصيام اعتمادًا على البحث الذي أجراه المعهد الوطني للشيخوخة في المملكة المتحدة والذي يؤكد على أهمية الصيام المتقطع لحياة صحية أفضل، كما أنّ للصوم فوائد جمة على مرضى السكري والسرطان والاضطرابات العصبية.

ما رأي الإسلام من كل ذلك؟

ووفقاً  لما ذكره الدكتور علي أحمد مشعل  المفتي العام في دائرة الشؤون الإسلامية والعمل الخيري في دبي: "إنّ الصيام هو الركن الرابع من أركان الإسلام، ولا يجوز لأحد الإفطار دون عذر شرعي أو مرض يجيز له الإفطار". فديننا الإسلامي هو دين ليّن، فمن كان له عذر طبي يتعذر فيه الصيام عندها يجوز له الإفطار، وما دون ذلك فليس له أي عذر.

أمّا بالنسبة لمرضى فيروس كورونا، إذا أقرّ الطبيب ضرورة الإفطار من أجل الأدوية أو لبقاء الجسم رطبًا هنا يجوز له بالإفطار. أمّا من أدعى المرض ليحق له الإفطار فلا يجوز ذلك.

وأخيرًا يجب أن نستشعر بعظمة هذا الشهر العظيم، ولا نجعل هذا الفيروس سببًا للحسرة على هذا الحال، بل يجب أن نجعله شهر الدعاء والتضرع إلى الله ليكشف عنّا هذا المصاب بإذن الله.

للمزيد عن فيروس كورونا إقرأ هنا:

ما الإجراءات الاحترازية التي اتخذتها دولة الإمارات لمواجهة فيروس كورونا؟

دليلك الشامل عن فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-١٩) في الإمارات

براءة خطاطبة

براءة خطاطبة

حاصلة على درجة دكتور الصيدلة من الجامعة الأردنية، خبرة كصيدلاني سريري في المستشفيات، خبرة ككاتب محتوى طبي ومدقق محتوى في العديد من المواقع الطبية.

اقرأ المزيد
هل صيام رمضان يزيد من فرص الإصابة بفيروس كورونا؟
شارك هذه الصفحة

اشترك في حكيم

If I fast can I get the Coronavirus? | COVID-19 and Ramadan in Dubai

/ Covid-19

“Not fasting during Ramadan is not permissible due to coronavirus, and fasting is a duty and a must for Muslims,” Al Azhar said, as reported by Gulf News.

The holy month of Ramadan is two weeks away and due to the coronavirus outbreak, the celebrations, festivities, and prayers during it will be different than the previous years. Here’s a recap of the restrictions that have been put in place by the UAE government:

·        The pre-celebrations have already been put to rest. According to Gulf News, “The traditional custom of Emirati children celebrating Hag Al Laila was spent indoors after the Ministry of Health and Prevention urged residents to avoid family gatherings, children’s visits to neighbors, and spending time in the streets.” Hag Al Laila is a traditional festivity during which children go from door to door to collect sweets.

·        As per the curfew set, individuals in the UAE cannot leave their houses between 8 pm to 6 am. Moreover, only one family member can go out for errands. This means that the entire list for Ramadan needs to be made and shopped for in one go because multiple trips during the month are not favorable.

·        The General Authority of Islamic Affairs and Awqaf has suspended prayers in the mosque until further notice. Taraweeh prayers this Ramadan may have to be offered in the house. This suspension will be reviewed before Ramadan starts.

·        With some food delivery and take-out options available, dine-in restaurants have been closed until further notice which means no suhoor and iftar outside. Social distancing and other preventive measures put in place mean no inviting relatives and friends to house lunches and dinners either.

Ramadan in the UAE is expected to start on Thursday, 23rd of April and end on the evening of Saturday, 23rdMay. This year, Dubai residents will be fasting for 14 hours and 48 minutes.

Will fasting make me more vulnerable to the virus?

Exposing yourself to an infected person or a contaminated place, and not washing your hands, will make you vulnerable to the virus. You cannot get the virus if none of these conditions are met. So fasting has little to do with making you vulnerable to the respiratory tract infection.

What does the research say?

According to Insider, intermittent fasting is a ‘bad idea’ because it stresses out the body and during such stressful times, it is not recommended. Further, it was said that “Fasting can also be mentally taxing, especially for people with eating disorders.” As per their article, there is not enough scientific research to suggest that fasting helps boost the immune system.

However, the Gulf News contradicts the above-given statements by quoting research by the UK-based National Institute on Aging, which states that intermittent fasting can help individuals lead a healthier life. Fasting can lead to improvements with health conditions such as obesity, diabetes, cancer, and neurological disorders.

What does our religion say?

According to Dr. Ali Ahmad Masha’el, Grand Mufti at the Dubai Department of Islamic Affairs and Charitable Activities, “Fasting is the fourth pillar of Islam, and nothing can excuse one from not fasting except for ailing people who are on medication and fasting may complicate their health condition.” Our religion excuses sick people from fasting only if doing so can risk their health and cause further complications.

In terms of the coronavirus, it was said that if the doctor thinks that fasting will have a toll on the infected person’s condition, and if taking medicine, drinking water and staying hydrated is a must for him, then he is permitted to not fast. But if he is making excuses that not fasting might make him sick, and he is not yet sick, then it is not allowed for him to miss his fast.

Furthermore, religious scholars have argued that drinking water is good for the body but it does not prevent the virus from infecting the human.

In conclusion, the theories vary, and no two individuals are the same. Ramadan is a month of blessings and forgiveness. Muslims all over the globe are praying with the hope that the pandemic will end in this holy month of togetherness.

Recommended read: How and When will the Coronavirus End?

If I fast can I get the Coronavirus? | COVID-19 and Ramadan in Dubai
Share this

Subscribe to Hakeem